Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I would first like to introduce myself as I am new to the forum and would also like to commend everyone on providing such helpful advice to one another.

I am a 20 year old British Citizen who has been living in Spain for the last 7 years; I am now looking at every possible avenue to move to San Francisco. My Dad is 100% English while my Mum is partly Welsh (which eliminates me from the Green Card lottery I seem to understand). I am currently self employed as a PPC / SEM Account manager and have enough personal clients to sustain myself financially if I was to move across to America.

I am basically wondering whether there is a chance that a company will employ me with the skills I have. I would even be willing to work as an intern, take a wage cut, etc in order to acquire the required visa to stay. I have an IB Diploma (A-Level equivalent) and I am also qualified as a Google Advertising Professional. I also have a decent amount of work experience for someone of my age (in my opinion).

Can you think of any opportunities for me? Thanks so much in advance and I shall be active within this thread.

Scotty

·
Registered
3,212 Posts
If you're serious about wanting to move, it'll have to be a long-term plan. You need a degree at a minimum, then seek local work with one of the big accounting firms with the hope that they'll eventually transfer you to the US. Your chosen destination is the most difficult one.

DV eligibility is based on where you were born. If it was Blighty, that's no help.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the feedback Fatbrit. I had one idea but I'm not sure whether it would work...