Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie to this so please bear with me. I'm an X-ray tech that does CAT scans and MRI Scans. Are there any X-ray techs out there that have migrated and have gotten a job in Australia? Do my certifications here in the U.S. apply or will I hit a brick wall. Thanks!

·
Registered
619 Posts
Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie to this so please bear with me. I'm an X-ray tech that does CAT scans and MRI Scans. Are there any X-ray techs out there that have migrated and have gotten a job in Australia? Do my certifications here in the U.S. apply or will I hit a brick wall. Thanks!
Funnily enough, I have just been researching this for a friend of mine, here in San Francisco who is in the same profession, and is considering the move because we will be moving there.

If you wish to apply for Permanent Residency (PR) visa (175 or 176):

There are several kinds of radiography professions that are on the skilled occupation list (SOL), each of which will earn you 60 points in the points test.

Radiographer – Medical Diagnostic Radiographer - (AIR)
Radiographer – Nuclear Medicine Technologist 2391-15 - (ANZSNM)
Radiographer – Radiation Therapist 2391-13 - (AIR)
Radiographer – Sonographer 2391-17 - (AIR)

Having said that, you need to be aware that they will be introducing a new, streamlined SOL and it will be a big change form the current list.

If you qualify as a Medical Diagnostic Radiographer, the good news is that the profession is on the current Critical Skills List (CSL) and is a high priority in terms of processing. However, they are abolishing the CSL when the new SOL is released in summer. Also, it seems you might more be suited for Radiation Therapy.