Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

I'm new here and hoping someone can give me a bit of advice, or at least give me an idea of my chances, on moving to and teaching in Australia.

I am a U.S. trained teacher of Social Studies with a BA in History, an MA in Teaching, and certification to teach grades 4-12. I have three years teaching experience at the secondary level.

Here's where things get tricky: for a while I've actually been trying to get to New Zealand. I have gone through the New Zealand Qualifications Assessment and came out with a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Teaching at level 7. Using this, I acquired a provisional teaching certification in New Zealand. Unfortunately, secondary teachers were taken off the skills shortage list recently and I do not believe it will be possible for me to enter NZ at this time.

Now I would like to go to Australia. Specifically I am looking at Victoria and other regions in the SE. Thanks to my NZ certification I should be able to transfer and register in Victoria under Mutual Recognition. What I don't know is whether or not I actually SHOULD. Will the fact that I haven't actually taught in New Zealand be considered if I look for a job with this kind of teacher registration? Should I go the route of "foreign trained teacher" instead? Or is registration registration, no matter the process?

Moreover, do I even have a chance in Australia right now? I'm being offered a position in Cambridge, UK right now but I would much rather go to Australia if there will be opportunities waiting for me.

I'm good at my job and I love to teach but I'm very unsure of what I'm doing at this point. In New Zealand I applied to nearly 100 different teaching positions without so much as an interview to show for it, but I'm chopping that up mostly to being out of the country and not being on the skills shortage list anymore.