Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

I am a rather hand-to-mouth artist/student type in my late 20's who just moved to Europe with nothing but a few thousand dollars in cash in my pocket.

I left my finances rather screwed up in the States: An overdrawn checking account, $50k in student loan and credit card debt, $500 in federal back taxes, an unpaid $500 speeding ticket...

I was able to open a bank account in France at Credit Agricole where I used my E.U. passport as my identifying document.

Unfortunately, my snoopy bank clerk saw that I had listed San Francisco as my birthplace, and is now hounding me to fill out FATCA compliance forms which ask for my SSN.

My question is: Is the money in my E.U. bank account at any serious risk for being debited against my will by any financial institutions (public or private) in the U.S.? Even with established E.U. citizenship?

I'm not proud of the state in which I left my finances in America, but I simply cannot afford to address these issues right now with €2500 to my name.

Merci d'avance,

kmelt86

·
Administrator
48,519 Posts
At the moment, no. But the French bank does have to report back to the US on the existence of your account and any interest income that is paid to the account. Think of it as them preparing a 1099-INT for the IRS.

Your US bank accounts will continue to be screwed up - and they'll do with them whatever they can. But first of all, 2500€ won't generate any taxes owed, so that's not a problem. And unless something changes big time, the IRS can only grab your US based accounts.