Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I'm looking for peer advice on reasonableness of salary on a position in India. Sorry for length of this post, but wanted to give some context if it helps. If anyone is in a similar situation or is friends/knows someone who is, and can give me something to baseline my offer against, would be greatly appreciated!

I'm looking to move to Bangalore for a 2 year assignment with my company which is a top 5 global in transportation/engineering. I'm a civil engineer from USA leading a design (project manager) for a transportation project in Bangalore. Position in India would be owner’s representative during construction for the developer. I'll try and give some specifics so as to make it easier for anyone to help me know if the salary and/or benefits package being offered is low, mid, high for the position, experience, overseas hardship, etc

Here's some specifics on the position, my current salary/benefits, and the offer my company is giving. TThe terms of offer for relocation seems reasonable, my biggest concern is that salary compensation may not be status quo . If anyone knows someone in a similar position and rough range of salary.

-I'm currently about 15 year’s experience. I am a US PE. I make around $110K before taxes currently with usual benefits (somewhat subsidized heathcare, 401K with about 5% match if lucky).
-offer is for 2 years
-I have a family (wife and 2 kids - preschool age)
-financial offer is:
-salary uplift = 25% + 10% for extended workweek. Working days are Mon-Sat instead of US standard of Mon-Fri
-housing covered (month allowance)= 2,200 USD + 250 USD for utilities
-healthcare is same as I currently get
-vacation is my current accrued PTO of about 4.5 wks/yr
-travel to and from India at beginning and end of assignment: 2 excess bags allowed