Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My fiancee and I are in a kind of unique situation. It has been our dream ever since we were twelve years old to live in Japan. So far we've taken every step possible to make our dream come true. We have found a Japanese apartment, we are currently learning Japanese, we have even found a Japanese school in Tokyo that can accommodate my fiancee's disability. She even wants to learn up to JLPT Level 1 and Kanji Kentei Level 1.

I am currently an Engineer, aboard a research vessel and sail for about 5 to 6 months out of the year. I pull in more than enough income in those 6 months to support the two of us if we were to live in Japan. Our problem is obtaining a visa that will allow us to begin the naturalization process.

I have spoken with the Japanese Embassy in San Francisco with very little luck or sympathy. I have also contacted an immigration law firm in Tokyo and the best they could recommend was a workers visa. Unfortunately we are unable to go the student/teacher route either due to my fiancee being disabled and she's physically incapable of working or going to school full time. Although I have a Bachelors Degree I refuse to sacrifice my income to become a JET to get us to Japan. We were wondering if anyone knows of any options that would allow a foreigner with no family ties or a foreign job to live in Japan.

Thank you so much in advance for your time.

·
Banned
284 Posts
I don't know if people still do this much, but a long time ago people would just leave the country and re-enter and get another 3 months on their tourist visa. You have to go far enough away for it to count though so Korea doesn't count. I think Thailand might be the closest you can do that trick.

·
Registered
28 Posts