Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I am an American student currently completing an internship in Paris, and two years ago I studied abroad in Lyon for eight months. Once I am done with my internship in December, I will return to the States so that I can finish my journalism studies at my university and graduate in May. After that, I want to move back to France. So here comes the tricky part. My boyfriend is French (we met at my university in the States, and he is the main reason I am in France) and we are currently trying to find jobs for me in France, preferably Lyon (where is doing an internship until October 2010) or Paris (where he is from). It just seems to me almost impossible to find something! The only solutions we have found are to either get married so it's easier for me to be here (my boyfriend doesn't want to get married right now) or either we can get PACS'ed. Does this work and does it make things easier? I just want to be able to legally stay here and/or find a job. Has anyone been through the same thing? Any help/advice is appreciated! Also, I'm new on this forum, so sorry if I messed anything up! Thanks!

·
Administrator
49,411 Posts
You're caught in something of a double bind here. At the moment, few potential employers will want to talk to you because you have no right to work in France. If they were to hire you, they would have to get authorization to hire a foreigner (a messy and expensive process for them) in order to then "sponsor" your application for a visa with work privileges.