Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about spending some time in Dubai and I was wondering if there's any way to go for a trial relocation? I'm a freelancer in the UK and could keep working for my existing UK clients. I'm guessing if I were to do this I would enter the country on a visitors 30 day stamp and then apply for an extension? Or is it possible to drive over into Oman every 30 days and come back in with a fresh 30 day stamp? What's the longest period of time I could get away with without being a resident?

·
Registered
3,294 Posts
You can drive to Oman every 30 days and renew your visa, fairly painless process and they even have a Pizza Hut at the border which gives you an idea how many people do it.

You won't be eligible to work in Dubai though. Again not to say nobody does it but you'll have no employment rights and no legal recourse if someone messes you around with payment.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You can drive to Oman every 30 days and renew your visa, fairly painless process and they even have a Pizza Hut at the border which gives you an idea how many people do it.

You won't be eligible to work in Dubai though. Again not to say nobody does it but you'll have no employment rights and no legal recourse if someone messes you around with payment.
Thanks very much. I crossed the Oman border last time I was there on holiday and it was easy enough. Can this be done indefinitely? I read somewhere that you need a return ticket when first entering the country to get a stamp. Is this correct or will they just stamp it at the airport anyway?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·