Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My wife and I just got approved time off to go on our long awaited honeymoon and see if we would okay relocating to Thailand. We are planning a 3-4 month trip out of San Francisco, and I need to return by September. Below is an itinerary of places we want to go to. We also want to stay in one place for a little while also (to live and explore local life). Where would we best experience everyday life? Most likely options are Bangkok, Chiang Mai, and Chiang Rai.

I am thinking it might be best to think of the trip in 3 segments: 1. Stay in Thailand 2. Short trip to Hanoi/Ha Long/HoChiMinh/Angkor Wat 3. Short trip to Phuket/Kuala Lumpur/Singapore

About Us:
My wife is Thai and speaks some Mandarin/Thai. Also, I am a chef by trade, so food related recommendations in our itinerary are appreciated. I have been to Thailand once before (wife several times more), and we intend to eat at street food stalls as much as possible. We aren't looking to cram as much as possible into this trip.

Places we want to go to (in no particular order):
Bangkok
Phuket (Boat Tours)
Chiang Rai (have family there)
Chiang Mai

Seam Reap (Angkor Wat)
Hanoi
Ha Long Bay (Sailing)
Ho Chi Minh

Phuket
Kuala Lumpur
Singapore

Questions:
Since we are unfamiliar with Vietnam/Cambodia, should we use a tour company? Any recommendations?
Is it better to book (anything) while we are in the states, or wait until we get to Thailand/Vietnam
For our stay in Thailand, I don't think we are staying long enough for an actual apartment rental. Is a vacation rental the best option for this? Where should I look for a vacation rental?
How can I get the most bang for the buck?

We are probably looking at a April or May departure since I need to be back by September. Help?! Any Deals on Flights (we are willing to stopover in HK, Taipei or Seoul)?

Richard

·
Registered
369 Posts