Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
:confused:me and wife are trying to decide weather or not to move down under I’m a carpenter with no work here in Ireland we cant decide don’t now if it’s the right think our not we have a mortgage here and wont be selling any time soon
Please help

·
Registered
8,429 Posts
keyy,
welcome to the forum

why dont u have a look at the job portals (links at the top of the forum page in sticky threads). if you see many openings, u can decide if its for you, alternatively have a look at the state sites, weather, culture etc to figure out if AU is for you or not

·
Registered
6,235 Posts
As well as what Anj suggests take a look at visa options too. Some visas can take 12 months or more to get here while some are a lot quicker if your skills are in need.

Also think about what your financial situation would be like here. If you didn't sell you house how would you survive here? It would be horrible to move country, have financial worries and have no family or friends to support you.

I'm not trying to put you off - just point out that there are a lot of things to consider (which you probably know already!).

Regards,
Karen

·
Registered
13 Posts
Big Decision

I know how you feel, we were like that before making up our mind. I feel as if we have read every book on australia and are regular buyers of the Australia nd New Zealand magazines.

What we did is once we found that my husbands skills were on the sol list we looked at salaries etc.

We then made up lists of positives and negatives about living here. The negatives far outweighed the positives so we felt that was enough to make our decision.