Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I would like to move to Dubai. I work in the IT field. Anyone knows best ways to find a job , any consultants or what is the best work around .

Help much appreciated .
Thanks

·
Super Moderator
Originally from UK but lived in many countries
6,963 Posts
Hi,
Best work around is to first install patience 8.0, followed by grovel 4.3a (build 69) then factor in some knock backs along the way.
Disappointment 5.0 is your biggest enemy here along with Passport Country (greatly affects Salary version).
Finally - there is loads of information in The "How to find jobs in Dubai/UAE" sticky at the top of the forum page!!
Best of luck!
Steve

·
Registered
203 Posts
My brother works at an IT multinational here, and he always says there is a huge shortage of qualified IT people in the networking, storage field and application development. If you have the right qualifications, and experience, it should be easy to get jobs with a good salary. If not, it is going to be very hard to compete with the the 1000's looking for a job here.

I would suggest to sent your CV with a good cover letter on your qualifications to the likes of HP, IBM, Oracle, Microsoft etc. They have the reputation to be excellent employers and they are always in search of qualified people; but it may take up to 6 months to get in there. In parallel, do loads of networking which speeds its up dramatically..... There are also many smaller companies that are great to work for... but again your qualifications are key...

·
Registered
23 Posts
Thank you very much for your reply . That was really helpful. Do you mind sharing your brothers email id , I am sure he would be able to give me loads of insight into this . my email id is /removed

Your help is much appreciated

Thanks a lot
Arun