Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello – first post from an appreciative reader!

I am an Canadian doctoral student based at a UK university on a Tier 4 visa which is soon due to expire. I am primarily living, however, in the Middle East right now, where I am writing up my thesis (and where my wife has a job). My university and supervisor know where I am and we are in regular touch.

In light of this situation, I am trying to decide whether to return to the UK to apply to extend my Tier 4, or let it expire (which I know means losing the possibility of the Doctoral Extension Scheme) as long as I can still return for my viva. So, I have two questions:

1. If I let my Tier 4 expire, do you think I will be able to return to the UK on a Short-term student visa for my viva examination, even though I will technically still be a long-term student registered at a UK university? (My university tells me that the new visitor rules have changed Student Visitor to Short-term Student, and they don't know yet if this change of wording will effect long-term students returning for thesis submission or viva).

2. If I decide to apply to renew my Tier 4, I understand I can only do that from within the UK, so I would return to the UK to apply. Do you think my having been away from the UK from October 2014-now (aside from two multi-day visits) has violated my Tier 4 visa, or might raise flags or cause trouble if I apply to renew it?

Thanks for reading and any advice you might have!

·
Registered
39,103 Posts
#2 No.
#1 This is up to you. I'd have thought that you should be able to return to UK for viva voce as visitor, though I don't know after a recent change in rules (university employs registered advisors so they should be well informed and in a position to guide you on this).

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·