Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! Once again, you find yourself reading a post about a luckless American trying to get to England to be with the woman of his dreams. I'm sure you guys are sick of these questions and I have done research before asking this so I'm really asking for advice from people that have gone down this road before.

First, background info. I met my fiance on Facebook in November, 2011. Since that time we've exchanged over 75,000 private messages. I went to see her in September, 2012 and stayed there until January, leaving only because I couldn't get a job or get a job because of the "visitor's visa", the stamp in my passport. We've been engaged since November, 2013 and I am desperate to get back to her, get a job, and marry her. She is on benefits and has two kids.

I'm a chef by trade, and that appears to be a strike against me because even though it's a traveling profession and I see jobs advertised which I am qualified and in some cases over-qualified for but I can't get it because I can't get sponsored for a visa.

I guess you can see the questions coming at this point:
What jobs are the best to get tier 2 visa and is it possible for an experienced chef to get sponsorship?
Can I get married to her if I were to go there again, and if I can, could I stay there and could I then find work?

Thank you for reading and answering.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
You are not allowed to look for a job on a visitor's visa.

If she meets the financial requirements, get a fiancé visa.

·
Super Moderator
18,086 Posts
What kind of benefits is she on specifically?

There are a few specific chef occupations on the shortage occupation list so you can see if you fit in those categories. If not, it's extremely difficult to qualify for a Tier 2 visa as employers must 1st prove there is no one in the UK or EU to fill the position.