Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Forum,

The girlfriend and I are giving serious consideration to emigrating from the UK. It's pretty much going to be a central goal for us and our obvious choices are Sweden (we have friends living there), the U.S. (friends and family there), and Australia (I have family there).

Now I know that these choices are far removed from each other so as you can no doubt imagine, we are a bit stuck on choosing. I am looking for advice on pragmatism, I will list some details that will affect our decision below.

Please feel free to offer advice, experiences, or even just some simple tips regarding us making our decision.

Details are as follows:

I am a qualified/certified plumber, not gas safe qualified. I have worked for years in the IT industry, specifically in technical support, mechanical support, and administrative (asset management for example) roles. I have plenty of catering experience, and although I worked mostly on a bar I am a qualified and experienced chef. I am currently employed full time. My employer has a global presence.

My girlfriend is a qualified and certified carpernter (site & joinery) with little work experience in fields outside of that. She is currently a stay at home mum, caring for our two boys (2 year old and 9 month old).

We have no savings, we have no debt. We are prepared to learn any language, we are also prepared to make a 5 year plan to prepare for emigration (generate savings, etc).

We are both native UK nationals.

We are looking for a better quality of life, at a slower pace. We would prefer access to more energetic activities for when the boys are older. We are also both naturally introverted, though we socialize well in all but the most crowded of areas. City life is not for us.

Thanks in advance!

·
Administrator
50,460 Posts