Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
We're a family of four who are thinking of emigrating to australia. I'm a staff nurse and husband is an engineer. Kids are 1 and 6 ( plus dog !). We have contacted an agent and are going to phone them for a free consultation after doing an on - line eligibility test. Basically .. Help! Should we use an agent ? If so who is best ? Where's the best place to move to ? Quite like the sound of Perth but am worried we can't afford to buy a house! What are house prices like? We are not looking for a luxury pad with a pool - just a 3 bed house really with a bit of a garden for kids and dog. Think we can manage about $250 max but is this realistic ? What are the overall costs of the actual move roughly ? Got to get the dog over there too ! Any advice would be most appreciated and please be honest about if we can't afford it !! Thank you

·
Registered
145 Posts
Hi there we are also in the UK and husband us an engineer. We thought about using an agent but thought we would try to get over there via the 457 sponsored visa route. As engineering is on the skilled shortage list we have opted for this route. I registered his cv with a few agencies on the seek recruitment site and he got an interview for a company in Perth. He then had a video conference follow up call and got the job. It's only taken a month from sending cv. Start in July hopefully and will rent initially. Perhaps try registering his cv and see what happens. Good luck!

·
Registered
91 Posts
Hi Sabark,

When you say $250 what do you mean- do you mean rent for a house per week or $250k to buy a house. We have been renting for 14 months in Perth at $630 a week and are looking at buying a house by the end of the year for about $650 - $750k once we get PR - currently on a 457 Sponsored Visa !! That kind of money should get you modern 4 x 2 in a nice area with a pool but not near the beach !! TJ

·
Registered
25 Posts