Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

New to forum..so hello!

I said to myself if the Tories get in again in this country (UK) then I am off!

I have been looking at Australia for a while but cannot get my head around the visa stuff...a visa for this, a visa for that...all I want to do is visit Australia for about a year and work there legally for the time there..

I cannot make head nor tail of the Australian Embassy website regarding visas.

Anyway, here is the problem I think - I work as an IT contractor in the UK and have done for about 10 years BUT I am now 46 years old and from what I have looked at I may be too old to work legally in Australia - is this corrrect?

Bit ageist isn't this???

There are working visas for young folk but what about people my age - I don't want to work 'cash in hand' - I would look for a related IT contract job..

Any advice please folks?

Cheers,

Sq..

·
Registered
58 Posts
Hiya,

I am too in UK on work visa but luckily have valid PR(189) to move to Australia and work there. I believe if you can see the option of getting PR to UK. Assuming it is much faster from UK, you can check this in the Australian immi site.
I couldn't understand your point, if Tories get in again how this will impact the prospect of working and living in UK? Could you pls explain.
Regards

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Watch and learn my friend - the Tories only look after themselves - evil through and through.

..and that is why I am off....

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
Watch and learn my friend - the Tories only look after themselves - evil through and through.

I think there are far worse "evil through and through" goverments in the world than the Tories in the UK. At least they were democratically elected.

Jo xxx

·
Super Moderator
Originally from UK but lived in many countries
6,931 Posts

Hi,