Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I have never used a forum before and almost feel nervous typing this message!

My husband's dream is to try 'Life in Australia' and so we are giving it some thought. The whole idea of it feels a bit crazy yet exciting but I just don't know where to start. Hoping this forum might help me.

For starters, I am wanting some advice on where might be the best place to live. We have 4 children ranging from 12 years old to 6 months! So schools are important and a safe child friendly environment. I don't want to be in the heart of a busy city but nor do I want to feel isolated and lonely. I need a community and friends and neighbours close to me!

I am a registered midwife and my husband is a supermarket store manager. Both of us intend to work in Oz.

I would really appreciate any words of advice.
If there are any Midwives reading this I would love to hear from you!!

·
Registered
272 Posts
Hi Julie,

I'm not a midwife, sorry. :)
Anywayswe have a family with 3 kids and we wanted to be close to city, in a good suburb, not too far from beaches, safe, with a nice community life.

But before than we need to choose state/city.
Maybe one of the places to start is to consider weather.

What kind of climate would be confortable for you?
Would you prefer 4 seasons or 2?

Would you miss Winter?
Do you enjoy the feel of Autumn?

After we decided on climate, we considered size of city we are confortable with, for ie. I love to so some shopping therapy once in a while, so we need to live close enough to a city.

For me Sidney is just too big, we thought of Melbourne because it does have 4 seasons, but we are moving to Brisbane in the end for family reasons.

But we decided that if after 1 or 2 years we feel Brisbane (sub-tropical) is too warm for us, we'll head to Melbourne (Mediterranean).