Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm looking for any help people can give regarding moving to Spain... most likely Estepona area.

I've looked around the forum and there is some great info and clearly people who know their stuff but at the moment it feels a little bit like putting a jigsaw together but I don't know how many pieces there are... or have the picture on the box!

In a nutshell I'm a UK based training consultant working 60% home and 40% international and have figured I can travel to do this... Have seen the phrase 'commuting' which makes sense.

I'm trying to work out the 'residence' issue (NIE seems a given) and associated benefits and tax implications... let's face it I'm going to have to pay it some where and the treaty means there is unlikely to be any saving. My confusion is over where I would be self employed.

I'm also trying to build a picture of cost of living... clearly there is rent and utilities, but I'm trying to get a grasp of things like community/'council' tax, resident/management fees, medical etc

Quite a lot to ask I know but looking at some of the expertise on here I think some people could given me valuable info before their coffee is at drinkable temperature ;-)

Anticipated thanks

FRED

·
Registered
18 Posts
Hi Fred,
I live on the borders of Estepona, so know the area.
I am was self employed for 2 years and recently changed to company status .
Too much info to go through on here, but here is a few things to keep in mind.

If you spend more than 183 day in Spain then you are liable for Spanish tax.
As a self employed, even if you earn no money you do have to pay national insurance which for me was 316€ per month, which provides social security and medical care.
Cost of living in Spain is no longer cheap!