Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear All,
I have received my LMO. I live in Ireland and need to apply through the UK branch of Canadian High Commission.
does anyone know if I need to send police certificate with the application and if you can please tell me your experience in this regard.
I am a permanent resident of both UK and Ireland and have my job offer and LMO all sorted just need to apply now and it is very un clear on the website weather I need to send the Police cert or not? any help is much appreciated.
Thanks
Alex

·
Banned
709 Posts
I'm under the impression for most TWPs you do need to provide a police certificate, however, depending on your job, you do not need to send off to the high comission to get your TWP, you can apply directly at the port of entry with all the paperwork in order (LMO, letter of employment, police certificate, etc...).

·
Registered
55 Posts
I didn't get a police certificate done. I think when you apply for the TWP, the Canadian government basically does that check themselves. at least I am assuming they do. Might still be handy to have one though just in case you need it for rentals or other things.

·
Registered
83 Posts
I didn't get a police certificate done. I think when you apply for the TWP, the Canadian government basically does that check themselves. at least I am assuming they do. Might still be handy to have one though just in case you need it for rentals or other things.
no they dont do the check. you have to send a police check with your application.

·
Registered
38 Posts
I too have just recieved my LMO, but i am of the opinion that i arrive in Canada with my LMO, Job Contract signed, proof that the company that is employing me will cover me with medical insurance for a period of time, My academic certs etc and i apply for my work permit at the airport ...

·
Registered
55 Posts
Sounds like its different for different situations.....