Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I've been reading the threads here for a while, but this is my first post. I know you get a lot of the "Hey I'm moving to Spain to live the dream" type posts, but any new information or perspective would be much appreciated! I've done a fair amount of research and am looking for help pointing out any major flaws in my plan before I start getting to the smaller details.

I'm a 23 (about to be 24!) year old expat living in the U.S. and I'm looking to move to Granada in September to teach English. I've been living in the U.S for the last 13 years as a permanent resident, but I still have my British passport. I attended university over here and have a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish. I can comfortably hold a conversation in Spanish, however I wouldn't consider myself fluent. Since I graduated college last August, I've been a part of a full-time national volunteer organization called AmeriCorps (similar to PeaceCorps) in which I teach English to adults as a second language in the mornings and serve as a 1-on-1 reading tutor to K-3rd graders in the afternoons. I've also been doing private English lessons at night. My commitment to AmeriCorps ends in July, and I'm trying to make plans for life after.

I don't have any children, or a significant other, and I will have about $9,000 saved to make the move. I've found a TEFL course in Granada (teflspain DOT org) that seems like it would be a good place for me to get certified. The course provides accommodation for the 4 weeks, which would give me time to find an apartment in the mean time. Based of what I've found on loquo, I should be about to find a room for between 160-210 Euros per month. Also, the course finishes at the end of September, which from my understanding is peak hiring season for English teachers.