Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi
I am new to this site but I hope someone will be able to help.

I have been in FRance for 8 years and 3 years ago decided to change from being a plasterer to an English teacher. Not such a massive move as I was a designer/salesman who owned companies in UK.

Recently I had an offer from a school to teach 18 hrs of English, they knew I had no 'Licence' nor a UK degree but such is the lack of teachers they asked me if I could start almost immediately . They said the Rectorate would not be an issue _ sadly I think it has become so.

Does anyone know of teachers allowed to teach without a licence or similar uk qualification. I teach for GRETA some french companies and for parents of kids at the very school I appear to be being excluded from by officialdom!

·
Registered
974 Posts
In what sort of school have you been offered a job exactly?
In the public school sysem, teachers must have a Masters degree (a recent requirement) and must have passed the revelant national 'concours' (eg: CAPES exam for highschool teaching).

If it's a private language school or institution, I don't know if there are any regulations or if it's up to the discretion of the employer....

·
Administrator
53,184 Posts
I don't know the specifics, but I do know that several years ago there was a push on in France to offer English training in the lowest grades in the school (maternelle or primaire) through games and songs with the kids. The schools in the Paris area started to hire a few American and British mothers (some with foreign teacher training or experience) but they were paid one-third to one-half as much as the lycée teachers who signed on for this "extra duty" in the primary schools. (One of the American mothers I knew at the time was married to a teacher of English in the lycée, so knew exactly how much less they were being paid.)