Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi, i am currently a student in Ontario Canada, in may 2014 i will be graduating with a bachelor of arts in french and a bachelor of education degree from the Ontario College of Teachers. I am planning to move to Aix-en-Provence once i graduate to be with my boyfriend who lives there currently. I was wondering if there is anyone here that has gone through the process of teaching in France with a degree from a foreign country. I am fluent in french so that wouldn't be an issue. I am more interested in information about getting qualified to teach in a collège or lycée, what the "concours" are like and how I would begin applying to take them. Should I just send CVs to the Rectorat or would it be easier to approach international schools.

Thanks in advance ! any help would be so much appreciated ! :)

·
Registered
4,899 Posts
Hello

Welcome to our forum. Others here will give you more details and their experience, but here is what I have found - I was a part time prof at an ESC.

For non French people entry into the Education Nationale is difficult. You may be able to find a post teaching English.

You may have more luck in the private primary and secondary education sector, I've heard that it's easier for non French people to enter as teachers.

Universities - no knowledge.

ESCs - I found a part time job in an ESC teaching my old profession (I'm retired) - project management, team building and CV writing in English. I had a friend who asked me to teach for 2 days in 2002, and after that the workload grew and grew. I was never asked about my qualifications, but the student feedback told me that the students THOUGHT I knew what I was talking about. I understand that the trend now is for ESCs to prefer PhDs.

You may want to try the private schools that teach English (both children and adults).

DejW