Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I don't know if anyone can help me with this situation, but I figure it's worth a shot.

Before moving to France to be with my husband, I was a French teacher in the US. As a student, I spent a couple years in France, so between that, using French daily in the classroom, and speaking to my now-husband regularly in French, my French abilities were one less thing that worried me.

However, my real issue has been trying to find work as a teacher in France (no surprise, I knew it wasn't going to be a cakewalk). I already have things working against me, as I am living in a small town where 60-70% here work as fonctionnaires, so if you aren't one yourself, you're basically stuck working at Leclerc.

Of course, one of the main issues is that if you want to be a teacher in a public school here, you have to pass the concours, which I don't even have access to, being a non-EU foreigner. Then there's the hassle degree recognition. Despite my having a master's degree in Foreign Language Education, INFREP said they couldn't hire me as an FLE instructor because my degree is too "general" and that OFII will only accept degrees which are specifically FLE oriented (complete nonsense, but ok). I am still waiting on ENIC NARIC to get back to me with my degree equivalencies.

If I want to work in private schools, well, I am still facing a similar problem. They say that they will accept non-EU foreigners, but you still need to pass the concours first, which I don't get how I could, considering that it isn't open to non-EU foreigners.