Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I have checked previous posts in regards to this subject and got plenty of valuable information. However, I would like any advice on how I should I approach continuing my career in Spain.
Do any of you have experience with TEFL certification? More specifically, do any of you know if pursuing a TEFL certificate would be something I need?:

I am a teacher with around fourteen years experience. I am fully credentialed and even though I am credentialed to teach History, Geography, Economics, Government, Civics, World Affairs, etc., I also am trained in teaching English language learners, having a big population of Spanish-speaking people in California.

I have coached sports, was editor of my school's annual yearbook, advisor of our school's student government, and coordinator of my school's activities.

I am bilingual in Spanish with a working knowledge in euskara (Basque). I have Basque heritage.

The reason I asked about TEFL is because I have seen some positions requiring TEFL certificate or equivalent. Is TEFL more for entry-level, college-age beginning teachers with no classroom experience?
Which types of jobs should I be applying for?

Thanks for any insight.

·
Registered
1,119 Posts
Where are you hoping to get a job? In an international/American school? A private school for Spanish children? A language academy? They each would have their own criteria for hiring teachers.

I work in an academy so I can speak from experience in that sector. Around here they all require their teachers to have CELTA or equivalent (TEFL would qualify). Any other experience you have beyond that would up your chances of getting a job, but to get your foot in the door you need that CELTA/TEFL.

Private schools are less apt to require the certificate but in this competitive job market it certainly would be a help.