Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Is there a need for French teachers in Thailand? I am a French writer and editor. I speak fluently English but it is not my mother language so I guess it would be difficult for me to get a job as an English teacher.

Thanks,

Bulgakov

G

·
Hi,

Is there a need for French teachers in Thailand? I am a French writer and editor. I speak fluently English but it is not my mother language so I guess it would be difficult for me to get a job as an English teacher.

Thanks,

Bulgakov
Listening to Thais teaching other Thais English I would think anyone could do better because they need help with the pronunciations and the R ploblem.
I never saw any French lessons offered but leaving aside the double meaning the French are active in the oil sector so they may be some demand.

G

·
Hi,

Thanks,

Bulgakov
It's possible. In Chiang Mai before I left I was offered part-time work teaching French at a school (I'm British but a qualified professional translator and interpreter).

·
Registered
18 Posts
Is there a need for French teachers in Thailand?
If you were a licensed/certified educator, you could find a few job openings with international schools in Bangkok. A few of the bigger/better schools do offer French courses and teachers are well-paid (true expat salary). Although some of these schools may hire a teacher who does not have a degree in education (if in dire need), it would be a shot in the dark. That said, it may pay to search the schools offering French and make some 'cold calls' / send some 'cold emails'.

Since you are fluent in English, you'd probably find it easier to get hooked up with one of the many language schools around Thailand. They always stress 'native speakers' but I'm not entirely sure just how strictly they follow this.