Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I currently work as a teaching support assistant in England (I am white British) and was looking for some information on doing this role in Spain. I am keen to give my daughter a better life and crave to live in the sun and by the sea. Wondering if anybody could point me in the right direction I.e to find out what sort of qualification is required etc? Thank you Stacey

·
Administrator
36,443 Posts
Hi I currently work as a teaching support assistant in England (I am white British) and was looking for some information on doing this role in Spain. I am keen to give my daughter a better life and crave to live in the sun and by the sea. Wondering if anybody could point me in the right direction I.e to find out what sort of qualification is required etc? Thank you Stacey
:welcome:

you wouldn't be able to get that sort of work in state schools in Spain - you'd need native level Spanish & be able to pass oposiciones - also, my kids have never had teaching assistants in their classes here, so I'm not sure that role even exists :confused2:

your best bet would be to contact British/International schools - if you look at the 'useful links' sticky near the top of the forum you'll find a link to some organisations with lists of these schools

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Great thank you very much. Would probably be looking to work in a British school as I don't currently speak Spanish x

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
I know someone who does this in an international school. She has no dependants to care for but has to suppplement her income teaching by English privately in her spare time. If you have to find extra work in the evenings, you may not really be offering your daughter a better lifestyle.

It might help to get a classroom assistant job if you get a TEFL/ CELTA qualification.

·
Registered
4,055 Posts