Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello -

I am looking for clarification on how Australian tax/employment laws would impact a foreign company that has a single employee living in Australia. I am a Software Engineer working for an American company and I will be relocating to Australia to be with my husband. I would like to remain at this company, on their payroll. I will not be doing any business in Australia, I will not provide services or sell goods in Australia. As a Software Engineer at this company I will continue working on a product sold in the USA and other authorized countries. The product is not sold in Australia. I will likely spend at least 4-6 weeks in the USA per year, on holiday or for work.

Would the company have tax liabilities in Australia in this scenario? I am not speaking of taxation on my own income (that is a whole other mess), only on the American Corporation.

Many thanks to anyone who is familiar with Australian tax/employment law and can help.

Cheers,

Autumn :rolleyes:

·
Registered
1,336 Posts
I did my research a few months ago on the same subject and found out that unless your employee has ABN number they are not liable to pay any taxes here, however, since you will be a resident of Australia, you will be liable to pay your taxes here than in USA.

I hope this makes sense. Your employer is an American entity and not Aussie and they are not operating out of Australia so they are not liable for any taxes here.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hi Chiku2006 - thanks for the suggestion