Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

First let me say what a great forum you have here. I have read many posts :ranger: and have learned some good information.

So heres my story.

Im an american male 29 yo, I play internet poker for a living. I make a good living doing my job. I get paid via international wire transfers from international companies. I run my business through a corperation in which i am the CEO and sole employee. All I need is a fairly reliable internet connection for work. I own a rental property in the US. I would like to save some money and was thinking of spending at least one year living in thailand.

Here are my questions :confused2:

1. How hard would it be for me to get a visa? 2. Can i get a visa that will allow me stay for 1+ yrs without having to leave every 90 days? 3. Am i going to be hassled by authorities about my job type in thailand? 4. Is it true that an american living in thailand gets an 80k+ tax exemption? 5 Would there be any benefit to marry a thai woman?

thnx in advance

·
Registered
142 Posts
Well, I don't think you can get a 1 year visa, since your not old enough, you will have to do it with tourist visas. I also think that playing online poker as a proof of income wouldn't work, and it would most likely be impossible to get a work permit for it, gambling is illegal here, as far as I know.

What you will have to do is going to the nearest capital every 90 days and apply for a tourist visa. Don't tell anyone that you work while your in Thailand. Pay your taxes in the US.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the reply acid. Would I get any tax breaks from the US or would i still pay the same amount? Would I have to pay tax to the thai government? Does anyone know a good international tax/immigration lawyer that I could contact in the states, I'm happy to pay for someones time.