Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, newby here and glad to find the site! I have been traveling to France for the last 20 years, but now I am going for a long time, due to a new business opening up. So, many questions to you all. First, I am applying for my 1 year Visa to stay - correct? Is there anything longer? I am working for an American company so I don't need to show that I am going to be working there yet, but maybe in the future... I want to take my own car over there, which is a German VW anyway, so not an American Car. Is this good, can I get it there with minimal fees, since it is not new, and I own it outright? I am assuming I have to have a place of residence first so I have a legal address there... Anyone know the fees for bringing my car over there and the process for registering it to use it there? Do I have to pay Tax? Any good car shippers that you know of, I am in CA. Ideally I would like to ship it in a container with some of my own household furnishings if possible. Anyone done this?

I have never rented an apartment overthere, always stayed in hotels for extended periods. What do I need to rent an apartment there, since I won't be showing a French employer....?

Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated!

·
Administrator
50,465 Posts
Hi - as you've no doubt noticed, I've moved your post to a thread of its own in order to attract a few more responses.

A few "issues" I've noticed in your post, though...

>>First, I am applying for my 1 year Visa to stay - correct? Is there anything longer? I am working for an American company so I don't need to show that I am going to be working there yet, but maybe in the future...<<