Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm new here, but was hoping to get some actionable advice as I'm struggling a fair bit. I just moved from the U.S. to New Zealand after about 8 1/2 months of planning and preparations to be with my long distance partner who I have since moved in and began our journey together with.

I finished my Bachelor's in English before moving but won't be able to work here for another month or two (I came initially on a visitor's visa to give us a trial run together), and have consequently had to spend a lot of time at home while my partner finishes up their last year of Uni (finishing up their Bachelor's at the moment).

I've been here about 2/3's of a month and am really starting to feel like a fish out of water. Luckily people speak the same language as me, but the cultural divide between the locals and even me and my partner is really starting to weight heavily on me. I haven't been able to exercise my creative mind because I just feel so overwhelmed. I've tried going for walks, both alone and with my partner, but I'm just beginning to feel more and more alone.

One thing potentially worth mentioning is that both me and my partner are introverts, him more so than I, and outside of him and his family I don't know anyone here. I think my mood is starting to put strain on our relationship, but I don't want to communicate these thoughts to my partner with only a little over a week until his exams. I will talk to him, but I can't add to what he's juggling right now because I'm a firm believer that school should come first.

Sincerely,
Drader321

·
Registered
6,360 Posts
The down after months of preparation and excitement, boredom and a bit of homesickness thrown in. I am glad to hear that you do not want yo add to his burden of finals. Hang in there.