Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Boy! Am I glad I came to this forum!
I will be travelling to Australia in May 2010 on an Employer Sponsored 457 Work Visa. My wife will also need a Visa - she will travel as a dependent and will not work in Australia.
I am a doctor and my Employer sent me the employer sponsorship nomination approval letter today.
I have some queries - some of which are really basic!! You can laugh out loud at my queries - but do try to help me out after a good laugh!!

Q 1. Should I lodge an online application or send in a paper one - heard online is faster. Can I pay online using an Indian Credit card? Also do I need to send only 1 application with my wife as secondary person(s) or lodge 2 separate applications.
Also do i need my 457 approved before I apply for my wife?
When do i get allotted a Case Officer?
Other than a medical examination, is there anything I need to do before I start applying?

Q2. Health Insurance: according to the link in the Australian Immigration Site - Temporary Business (Long Stay) - Standard Business Sponsorship (Subclass 457) -
"Applicants for Subclass 457 visas will need to provide evidence that they have obtained adequate insurance before their visa can be granted."
I now am in India. The Visa will be for 4 years. Travel Insurance will cover for a max of 180 days. Do I need a Medibank policy or will Travel Insurance do.

Q 3. What are the documents that I need to attach with this application and what are the form numbers I need to fill?

Q 4. Character Requirements: Both my wife and I have Police Clearance Certificates from India. Are there any other requirements for this? Is there some Personal particular Forms (Form 80) that is needed?

Q 5. Does my wife need to do the IELTS for the Visa Application? She will not be working in Australia

Q 6. ........ . ..... . ..