Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi :)

I'm a student midwife living in the UK and would like to emmigrate to Queensland as soon as possible after I graduate. (Sept 2012) I think the best route for me would be employer sponsorship but I'm not sure how to apply directly to employers when I'm not yet a registered practitioner here yet.

The immigration council haven't been much help so far, but according to the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Council I will have all the necessary criteria to register in Australia...still not 100% on whether my work experience will meet it, but I will have worked for 3 years in Midwifery as part of my honours degree.
Does anyone have any advice?

I really need to know which step to take next. There's no doubt in my mind that I'll get to Australia one way or another, but I want to make good choices.

Thanks in advance
Girly

·
Registered
1 Posts
Midwife just moved to NSW

Hi,

Im 26 years old, i qualified as a midwife in the UK 3 years ago.
I met my australian partner 18 months ago, so the plan was always to move tempoarily over here.

Obviously i was already qualified when it came to applying to work over here, so i can only go on this basis. But hopefully some of the info i supply will be useful. I personally think you will have a better chance of getting sponsorship if you work in the UK for at least a year following qualifying, most places look for 2 years experience as Midwives in the UK are trained better than midwives in Oz and you will have so much knowledge in that time, especially if you have trained at a busy unit.

So when i decided to move over here, i first contacted Geneva health, they are based in New Zealand and were amazing with getting me started. It takes quite a few months to get everything sorted, so be patient. It is a free service!