Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Dubai, finding lots I like here and really looking forward to settling into a routine and acquiring new favourite haunts.

The one thing I'm really struggling with is the kind of dual society which exists out here. My brother says it's just how it is and to accept it, ignore the inequality and get on with it.

I'm a grown man; I've always ironed my own work shirts; a maid now does that for me; she also changes my bed and cleans my apartment; even washing up any dirty dishes I leave around and generally picking up after me. Yes she gets paid but I feel guilty for this.

The balcony at my place needed cleaning; it was laden with dust; I'm an aable bodied man, well capable of doing it but paid a couple of the concierges 100 AED to do it for me; whilst I sat and watched rugby league..... They seemed happy enough with the pay; I still felt hellishly guilty. back home I'd have done it myself. Simply because it's so cheap here to get other people to do things for you, should you?

Also the maids and nannies in my building step aside to let me go through doors when I stop for them; saying "No, sir. You go." Yet never making eye contact and looking to the floor. I find it really disconcerting.

Am I just being oversensitive?

·
Registered
3,082 Posts