Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Dear all,
I did my Masters in Structural Engineering in 2007 and have around 13+ years of professional experience.

I'm trying for Permanent Residency in NZ from Delhi, India. I have submitted all my Educational documents for NZQA for Assessment last week. What is the procedure to get a letter or approval from Engineers New Zealand for Structural Engineering to Apply for the Immigration? Since my skill set Structural engineering is in the list of absolute skill shortage in NZ.
1. If I opt for Membership as a "Member" in Engineers New Zealand, will I be eligible to get the Letter or Approval from Engineers NZ, so that I can apply for EOI?
2. Is there any other procedure available or do I need to go for my professional experience verification with Engineers NZ?

Please update me at the earliest so that I can put forward my application.

Thanks & Regards
REDDY8580

·
Super Moderator
4,891 Posts
I'd personally wait to hear back from NZQA on the assessment of your qualifications as the result of that should give you sufficient information whether you need to approach Engineers New Zealand for their assessment of your skills/experience.
If you require registration with Engineers New Zealand in order to work in that industry here then by all means I'd get in touch with Engineers New Zealand now and explain your intentions and they should be able to guide you and give you an idea of what evidences you need to give, timesacales and fees.

Reactions: REDDY8580

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your reply.
I have contacted Engineers New Zealand last week. They also informed me saying that NZQA will guide me whether to go to Engineers New Zealand for credential check to get letter or not.

Below is the reply from them.

"
Hi Dileep