Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,

My name is David and I'm new on this website. I work as a carpenter and joiner in Québec, Canada, and I want to come to Western Australia to work. I just don't know what are the steps to do before coming... Is there somebody who can help me with that? I 've already my white card. Do I need recognition for my course? What type of visa do I need? I know that the WHV is ok but it is 6 months max. by employer and I'm looking to stay there a while if all works good for me.

is it easy for a person from an other country to work there? What is the median salary of a carpenter who start is carreer like me...

And do we need to talk perfectly English for this job? I think that I'm not so bad but still have work to do to get bilingual.:D

Thank you,

David

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
Hi David,

if you haven't been to Australia I think a work holiday visa would be an excellent opportunity to "scout" good areas to live in, travel a bit and find an employer. I have a couple of friends from the UK who got their citizenship incrementally, first coming over on a WHV which allowed them to find an employer willing to sponsor them on a 457 work visa. After two years with the same employer they were sponsored to permanent residency (PR). After 4 years total in Oz (with min. 1 year on PR) they applied for citizenship.