Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

First Time on these Forums although i have read a few posts over the last few years.
Wondering if you can help..

Our situation, both living in New Zealand.

Me : New Zealand Citizen (have spent 2 years in UK on youth Visa)
Wife : British Citizen and New Zealand resident.

I work as an engineer and my wife works part time, earns about £12,000 with little realistic opportunity to get a guaranteed job in the UK.

Based on this we figured the only way would be the savings route, and from looking at the Financial Support document on GOV.uk, it indicates that a sale of house could be used.

My question is really about timeframe, the application says that you need to apply a maximum of 3 months before you intend to arrive in the UK and you must arrive within 30 days of acceptance.

So for us:
1 - Sell House, hope there is enough with savings.
2 - Move in with family
3 - Make Application once we have all information
4 - Submit application + Biometrics (3 Months out to Date of visa)
5 - Application takes up to 2-3 months (or more, which i dont understand re above)
6 - Application is accepted, now organise everything to be in the UK within a 30 day period..

I may be missing something but seems hugely complicated and extremely tight time frame, especially due to the distance from NZ to UK.

Also additional question. Does the 30 months Residence start from arrival in UK or issue of visa? Do i need to be present in the UK for 60 months to apply for Settlement?

Thank you in advance!
Matthew

·
Registered
39,103 Posts