Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've been working for 8 months abroad at more than £18,600, and I have a job offer in the UK of £19,200. My employer abroad gave me pays lips every time he gave me a (cash) salary. I have the bank statements. He will provide me a letter confirming he employs me, the length of employment and the salary. I'm also getting character references from colleagues saying I work there.

My employer (a) cannot provide tax returns saying he employs me at the salary he pays me and (b) did not pay the salary straight into my account (I was paid in cash). Does anyone know if this is going to be a problem? The immigration advisor I'm working with is worried about this.

Would appreciate any advice,

Dan

·
Registered
39,103 Posts
Yes, to evidence your overseas job, taxes must have been paid. If your payslips show gross and net pay, that will suffice. To benefit from your pre-tax income, the whole of your cash pay has to be deposited in a bank. If only part of your earnings is paid into your account, only the actual amount deposited (after tax) will count.

If you are being professionally advised, please direct all queries to them.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, to evidence your overseas job, taxes must have been paid. If your payslips show gross and net pay, that will suffice. To benefit from your pre-tax income, the whole of your cash pay has to be deposited in a bank. If only part of your earnings is paid into your account, only the actual amount deposited (after tax) will count.

If you are being professionally advised, please direct all queries to them.
Thanks for the reply, Joppa.