Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm hoping to apply for a UK Spouse visa for my wife in a few weeks. I'm a Brit; she's Russian. I'll be moving to the UK with her from Russia. I have been working for more than 6 months at a job that paid more than £18,600 here in Moscow, and I have someone who can offer me a job in England at over £18,600.

My question is, how long does the contract of the job offer need to be for? If it was for, say, 6 months, would that be acceptable? Does annex FM 1.7 say anythign about that, or are there any other guidelines on it?

Thanks,

Dan

·
Registered
39,104 Posts
Fixed-term contract for 6 months will be fine. There is no stipulation about how long it should be.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Fixed-term contract for 6 months will be fine. There is no stipulation about how long it should be.
Thanks for this, Joppa.

I feel a little nervous about applying with a short(ish) contract like this. Does anyone have direct experience of making a similar, successful, application?

Dan

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi Dan.
I'm in a similar situatrion. Was the six month contract enough?
Cheers.
Hi Oleary1599,

I got a permanent job offer in the end, and will be applying in a few days.

However, I was assured by a number of immigration advisors that a 6-month contract would suffice.

Dan

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hi Dan, thanks for the quick reply!
That is a great help.
Hope it all works out for you.
Cheers.
Likewise. Good luck. As an extra encourgement, I trust the advisors both on this forum and the professionals who told me a 6-month fixed term contract would suffice.

All the best,

Dan

·
Registered
115 Posts
Hi there. I had a very similar query, searched and found this one.
so 6 months seems ok. That's great.
What about 3 months? (What about 1 month?!)