1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
Change of plans ..
I am not trying SMC.
My wife is going to take a PG course in AUT.
I am told that I will get a Work VISA.

Have any one tried this route and succeeded ?.(Please share your experience)
Any challenges in getting Job and ultimately PR.
I am a software engineer with 6 years of experience .

thanks n rgds
Chinz

·
Registered
60 Posts
i am also looking for the same route. I have 7.5 years of Exp in IT as Software Engineer.

My wife looking for PHD programmes. However, we just start thinking about it lets see what happened.

·
Registered
8 Posts
We are doing the same thing. We hired an immigration advisor after we wasted a bunch of money on trying the EOI and PR route. My wife has applied to the University of Auckland and we have sent off her supporting documentation already. When we get accepted, she will get a student visa, I with get a partnership work visa and our baby will get a visitor visa. Once I get a job there we will apply for our EOI and get PR through that route. I am a system admin/system engineer with about 4 years experience and my better half is a senior informatica developer. We will keep you updated as we make progress. But one piece of advice is get a advisor it makes life so much easier.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Thanks for your prompt response!!!

My wife is planning to do PHD programmes from University of Auckland. we just start initial process like IELTS Exam and required docs as well.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Once we get accepted and arrange students loans for the tuition cost our out of pocket expenses are basically as follows.

Advisor 1200 US
Visa 600 - 700 US
Money in bank 15,000 NZ
Money for return plane tickets