Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.

My husband is the principal applicant for Australian immigration.

I'm a computer engineer but don't have any work experience. Can I still have my degree assessed from ACS to claim 5 partner points. Note that I'm not the Principal candidate,
my husband is.

And if ACS doesn't access without experience, can I have my assessment from Engineers Australia (Australian immigration website has mentioned ACS for assessment of software engineers though).

Thanks. Waiting for replies. :)

·
Registered
458 Posts
Hello all.

I'm a computer engineer but don't have any work experience. Can I still have my degree assessed from ACS to claim 5 partner points. Note that I'm not the Principal candidate,
my husband is.

And if ACS doesn't access without experience, can I have my assessment from Engineers Australia (Australian immigration website has mentioned ACS for assessment of software engineers though).

4 things required for partner skills:

1.) Positive assessment from respective assessment like ACS/EA etc..
2.) Age less than 50
3.) Competent english score from PTE i.e above 50 in all modules or equivalent score from other test conductors like IELTS, TOEFL etc..
4.) Both belong to same list of occupations

Its not that ACS does not assess without experience, according to them they deduct minimum 2 years or higher from experience to provide Skill Level Requirement Met Date. i.e positive assessment, in order to do that they expect work experience... So indirectly yes, work experience is required for ACS positive assessment

EA - no idea about it, Senior members will reply to your query

But for sure, if your husband is primary applicant and you meet the above criteria, you can get partner skill qualification points

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
Hello all.

my husband is.