Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Newbie here :)

My husband and I are moving to Majorca in February next year and we both need to make a will. We could make it here which will be sufficient if our permanent address was going to be in the UK. Seeing as we're moving to Majorca in February though, I'm thinking that a Spanish will would be more relevant.

If I was to make a will in the UK would it be legal when we move to Majorca or should we wait until February and do it once in Majorca? Or do one in the UK and amend it when we move?

Sorry, so many questions! I have tried to find answers online but can't seem to find answers relating to my situation.

Many thanks in advance!
Louise

·
Registered
6,024 Posts
If you have assets in both countries, then it is probably best to have a will each and in both countries.

Make sure that each will makes mention of the existence of the other.

If you only have assets in Spain, then get a Spanish will.

·
Registered
4,055 Posts
If you have assets in both countries, then it is probably best to have a will each and in both countries.

Make sure that each will makes mention of the existence of the other.

If you only have assets in Spain, then get a Spanish will.
The above is exactly what we did, the local Notarios office did ours for us, we have assets in both countries.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Many thanks for your responses...

We have savings in the UK but none in Spain as yet (hopefully we will after moving there in February though) :)

I think maybe just do one for the UK and then do another in Spain after we've got a bit to actually give ;)

·
Registered
17,566 Posts
As always have a will in the country to which assets are domiciled - UK assets = UK will. Spanish assets = Spanish will.