Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, Im very new to this but the short story is my husband has been made a job offer in France. His employer is providing us with accommodation in Bethune which is a plus. The thing is we have a 2 year old son and expecting a baby in October this year. We love SA and are only considering moving because he has an excellent offer BUT the thought of moving house and home is terrifying. Can anyone give me more information about the place please? General living, cost of living, healthcare, weather, ANy information will be appreciated. Its a huge decision for us but one that we need to make. Please help!

·
Administrator
49,095 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

The thought of making a big international move like that usually is pretty terrifying. But if you're being moved by an employer, they will probably handle most of the worst of the moving stuff for you - and may even provide the services of a relocation assistant to help with things like househunting, negotiating paperwork transactions, etc.

Probably the biggest culture shock for you, coming from South Africa, will be the weather. The north of France has had a "real" winter this year, with lots of snow. The winter is normally cold, cloudy and damp, but this winter has been somewhat harder than normal. Still, Bethune is served by a number of transportation lines (train, autoroute) and you'll be in an interesting area, with pretty easy access to the UK, Belgium and the rest of France.

Health care in France is overall excellent, and since your husband is working there should be no problem getting set up in the social insurances system.