Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I am a new joinee. I am planning to apply for the 189 to immigrate to Australia.

While there is a lot of information available on skill select and the threads here, there are certain bits that are quite confusing.

Let me start with some information about myself.

• I work in the IT industry and my work experience is 8 years 2 months.

• I am 30 years old.

• I have a bachelor's degree in engineering.

• My IELTS score is 8.5

• Of the 8.2 years i've worked for 3 years in Zurich. So have decent overseas work ex.

• My wife is also in IT. She has 4 years of work ex with 1 year in Zurich. She is preparing for the IELTS as i write this.

• She too has a bacherlor's degree in engineering.

Coming to my questions:

• I wrote to the Australia Computer Society (ACS) to find out whether i need to get skills assessed before I start my visa process and they said i need to first start with the visa process, whereas quite a few posts in this forum say otherwise, and so does skill select.

• Skill select says that i require a certificate of character from every country that I stayed in for more than 12 months. I've received a Deregistation document from the Swiss authorities while leaving switzerland. It is basically affirms that i have a clean record, no dues etc. Will this suffice?

• Finally, specific to India, have other indians got transcripts created from their Universities (University of Pune in my case) or used their marksheets for skill assessment.

I know this is an awefully long post, and hope not to annoy any of you.

Many Thanks.

·
Registered
628 Posts
Hi All,
I am a new joinee. I am planning to apply for the 189 to immigrate to Australia.

While there is a lot of information available on skill select and the threads here, there are certain bits that are quite confusing.

Let me start with some information about myself.