Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Social Work Sponsorship

How difficult is it to get state sponsorship for child protection positions? I am considering applying for positions with NT, VIC, WA, NSW, and ACT. I have over 7 years of child welfare experience in the USA and I will complete my Masters in Social Work in May. My family of four is hoping to move to Australia by August.

·
Registered
32 Posts
I am beginning to look into this myself as both my partner and I are social workers in the UK. What I do know is that you may benefit from having your qualifications assessed by the Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW) as social work posts will tend to advertise requesting 'eligibility' to be a member of AASW. You may also wish to check government websites for vacancies and other aussie job sites:

AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers
Jobs, Employment & Careers @ Jobs.com.au
SEEK - Australia's no. 1 jobs, employment, career and recruitment site
Home

Hope this is useful, and if you happen to find out more I would certainly be interested in learning!

S

·
0 Posts
Hey guys I'm your resident social worker mod so fire away with any questions lol

aus2012 when you say sponsorship you mean from an employer? The only states who will offer employer sponsorship are Victoria, which I wouldnt touch with a barge pole! Terrible pay and conditions, like working in the dark age with no structure or leadership!
An NT, which offers better pay, marginally, but can come with car and home allowances BUT it's mostly working in the outback with the aboriginal communities. Great my sort of thing but its tough, nothing like you'd experience in the UK or USA. The problems, cultural issues and communitty wide problems are deep and would desrve more pay imo.