Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I have been visiting this site for a while and am amazed at the depth of the knowledgability of many of the posters. Anyway, as my teenage son would say, the deal is this. I have been working as a volunteer in Africa for over 30 years, the last 15 in the field of HIV/aids education and support. I therefore have not built up the necessary record of NI contributions for a full UK pension. I have about 11 contributory years , 5 when working as a nurse and the rest as a fireman. Both my wife and I are over the French retirement age, and would like to relocate to France (after so many years overseas the UK holds few pleasures for us other than family) and wonder if anyone has advice re registering as residents, access to healthcare and the equivalent of UK pension credits. We would rent for at least the first year, and maybe buy in a few years as we expect to receive an inheritance in the future. Also I would like to continue working if able find employment. Also, any ideas for websites in France similar to Gumtree for rental properties, especially in the south. PS I have both UK and SA passports.

·
Administrator
51,325 Posts
As a UK national, you have every right to set up in France. The "bad news" however is that, unless you're entitled to a British pension (which it sounds like you're not) you can't just register for the French health care system. It's not residence based, but rather based on your having made recent contributions via your work - or being on an EU national pension.