Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 550 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I was wondering if anyone could help.

We are planning on emmigrating using the 175 Skilled Migration Visa, and we are at the start of the process, and about to get my skills assessed.

I have been working as an architect in the UK for over 5 years now. I did my Master degree in Architecture in Poland, but this is not automatically recognised by the RIBA (UK architects board).

The assessing body in Australia is the AACA, and was wondering if anyone had experience going through their recognition process? We would like to know

1. Is it possible to gain recognition with my Masters degree only.
2. They dont seem to want any details about work experience, is it wise to submit this anyway, and are there any other documents we would be reccomended to send over and above what is required?

I am taking my Polish accreditation exams in June, and this would entitle me to be offically called an Architect in both the UK and Poland. We dont know if it best to wait until I've passed the exam, or submit now as we are desperate to get to Australia before starting a family.

Does anyone have experience of going through the AACA with this Polish (or any other non-recongnised UK) qualification?

Many thanks

Kamila
:)

·
Registered
2 Posts
AACA Skills Assessment

Hi Kamila,

I'm a UK qualified architect (since 1994) who emigrated to Brisbane in June 2009, and am currently going through the AACA process. I sent my academic equivalency application in last week.

I came over on a Spouse visa as I was under the impression that architects had been dropped from the Skilled Migrant programme due to the plentiful availability of local job candidates - I hope I'm wrong!

The AACA process happens in stages, the first of which is to establish 'equivalency' of the migrant's academic qualifications to those of Australia.