Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I'm an American who has been living in Paris for over 2 years as a student. I graduated from one of the grands ecoles de commerce and am currently looking for work. I haven't gotten an offer yet, and I would like to apply for the Skills and Competences visa to return to France to continue my search for employment.
I would just like to know if my profile will be appropriate for this type of visa. I would also like to know if being "pacse" to my French boyfriend will have any effect on my application.

Thanks in advance!

·
Administrator
49,434 Posts
We've had lots of interest in the "skills and talent" visa, but so far not too many folks coming back to say they've managed to secure one.

This is the official page of the Service Public website for the skills and talent visa or carte de séjour: Carte de séjour "compétences et talents" - Service-public.fr You'll note that they require a "project" which will benefit France and your country of origin in some manner. I have yet to find any sort of indication of the nature of the projects accepted under this program, so it's difficult to advise on just what sort of project you need. But I think you need to propose something a bit more concrete than to continue your job search.

From another page on the Service Public website (you may want to try and find it, as the site has been changing pretty quickly), the fact of being PACS'd with someone in France is a factor that is "taken into consideration" when evaluating a demand for a carte de séjour, but it is not in and of itself sufficient to entitle you to a visa or carte de séjour (as would be, for example, being married to a French national).
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
112 Posts