Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am looking at moving to Singapore or Australia(Melbourne) with my wife. I am a business analyst with a telecom firm.

I am finding it really hard to decide on which place fits me best.

Interests - Occasional pubbing, shopping, travelling, lazing around, fitness

I have been to Singapore a couple of times and loved the place.

Factors in favour of Singapore:

- The mass transport system is excellent
- Shopping is fantastic
- Night life is brilliant.
- Very safe even in the wee hours of the night.
- Close proximity to India (3.5 hours away)

Factors against Singapore:

- Not too fond of hot and humid weather though.
- Work culture . Heard the bosses expect you to work late hours
- Stopped accpeting PRs. Not sure how easy it is finding a job
- Owning a car is close to impossible

Never been to Melbourne but it has consistently topped the list of the world's most liveable cities. Heard the weather is similar to what we have in Bangalore.

Factors in favour of Melbourne:

- Better work culture
- Ranked as the worlds most liveable city
- Weather : Pleasant throughtout the year (by Indian standards 25-28 C)
- Better IT opportunities
- Good music scene

Factors against Melbourne

- Farther from India than Singapore
- All shops shut at 5?
- Cost of living much higher than Singapore which translates to lesser disposable income
- Not as safe as Singapore

If anybody has gone through this dilemma can you please help me with this one?

Thanks

·
Registered
194 Posts
Hi

I am looking at moving to Singapore or Australia(Melbourne) with my wife. I am a business analyst with a telecom firm.

- Shopping is fantastic

Never been to Melbourne but it has consistently topped the list of the world's most liveable cities. Heard the weather is similar to what we have in Bangalore.

- Better work culture
- Good music scene

- All shops shut at 5?