Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

This is my first time to use this forum not quite sure if im using it correctly but here goes.

My Husband and I (We have two children aged 14 and 4) and we want to move to Central Portugal to set up our own B & B. What we are trying to find out is this area over run with B & B's already.

We have been to Portugal many times and find the people to be so friendly and lifestyle very relaxed.

Aisling

·
Banned
905 Posts

Hi Aisling

First welcome to the Forum.

Setting up a B & B. What can you offer that is not being catered for in the emarket place?

First find an area you would like to live. This is important as when your customers go home you still have to live there, schools for the children were and how far.

A lot has to be done for yourself before you can consider others, if you are not happy life will not be what you want.

Research that area find out all you can about it and what can be found that your customers would like to do. Is the road system easy to get to where you want to live. If it's not easy for you then how do you thing your customers will cope.

Spend as much time as you can reading previous posts on the Forum. Do not be afraid of asking questions we all need help and we can all also be of help.

When you find something that is of help Bookmark it.

Peter

·
Registered
710 Posts
Hi welcome to the forum,

There are a few b&b´s around central portugal and a lot of guest houses, some make a good living and some really struggle to find clients.

The most important thing to think about if you are planning this type of business is the location.

starting this type of business in the wrong place, where there are no attractions, historic towns, lakes, etc and easy road and rail access, distance from airports,will lead to problems, i have seen it,