Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently live in Southern Illinois with my wife and two kids. Currently we are living on my income, but my wife and I will soon graduate with a Bachelors Degree in Information Systems. I have been a network administrator and copier tech for the last twelve years. Health Insurance for my family costs more than our 15yr. mortgage. No we don't have any medical conditions. We have decided that we are going to have to move to improve our life. Where is the question. We are not looking to live extravegant and actually prefer a place were the pressure to "keep up with the Jones'" will be relieved.

New Zealand is on our horizon. We researched several of the areas and decided on Wellington. Porirua looks really nice, though I have yet to visit.

How is it in New Zealand? Are we headed in the wrong direction? It has gotten too hard to make it here in the US.

Has anyone went to one of the seminars put on by Working In New Zealand? If so, is it worth it? The nearest one for me would be Calgary Canada.

Thanks!

·
Banned
180 Posts
Funny, a lot of Americans get attracted to New Zealand because of the cheaper healthcare.

Porirua may look nice but it doesn't have a great reputation, there are nicer areas. Why Wellington though? I'd go for somewhere that isn't so much at risk from earthquakes. Even the mayor of Christchurch doesn't like visiting.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Funny, a lot of Americans get attracted to New Zealand because of the cheaper healthcare.

Porirua may look nice but it doesn't have a great reputation, there are nicer areas. Why Wellington though? I'd go for somewhere that isn't so much at risk from earthquakes. Even the mayor of Christchurch doesn't like visiting.
Healthcare is essentially unavailable here for many middle class Americans due to extreme cost.